Today is Monday, July 23, 2018

Two New Faces in the Court of Appeals

Justices Florito S. Macalino and Edgardo T. Lloren took their oath before Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno on January 9, 2008 and January 18, 2008, respectively. The Court of Appeals welcomes these two legal luminaries to the family.

Associate Justice Florito S. Macalino

A native of Pampanga, Justice Florito S. Macalino obtained his law degree from the University of Sto. Tomas. After passing the bar in 1977, he spent almost eight years of his career inside courtrooms as District Citizens’ Attorney of the Citizen’s Legal Assistance Office from 1978-1986. He thereafter served as an assistant prosecutor for the province of Rizal and for the cities of Makati and Muntinlupa from 1987-1994 before his appointment as presiding judge of the Regional Trial Court of Pasig.

After being a trial court judge for 14 years and also the First Vice Executive Judge of RTC Pasig for 4 years, and after three consecutive nominations (2005-2007) for the Search for Outstanding RTC Judge, Justice Macalino’s performance did not remain unnoticed. On January 4, 2008, the President appointed him to be one of the latest additions to this Court’s roster of esteemed magistrates.

Justice Macalino and his equally successful wife, Union Bank Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary Atty. Fe Tengco Becina, are the proud parents of achievers Florimon Carlo, Florian Carlo and Faye Marie. The couple is involved in various pastoral projects to keep their faith as devout Catholics.

Associate Justice Edgardo T. Lloren

A former Judge of the Regional Trial Court of Cagayan de Oro City, Justice Edgardo T. Lloren is the newest member of the Court of Appeals.

After passing the bar examinations in 1978, he made his first stint in the judiciary when he was appointed as Branch Clerk of Court in 1984. In 1987, merely three years in service, he was promoted as MTC judge.

Justice Lloren did not confine his knowledge of the law within the four walls of the courtroom. In 1991, he started teaching law at the Xavier University (Ateneo de Cagayan) College of Law up until now. While juggling his responsibilities as an MTC Judge and a law professor, he got appointed as RTC Judge in 1999 and was twice designated as an Executive Judge.

Justice Lloren holds the distinction of being a recipient of the following scholarship grants: National Judicial College, University of Reno Nevada U.S.A.; National Judicial Institute of Canada; Rotary International Foundation.

Copyright © 2016 Court of Appeals Website
Designed, developed and maintained by the MIS Division

Make fonts bigger. Make fonts smaller. Return fonts to normal size. Open printer friendly version of this document.