Today is Monday, May 21, 2018

CA Cebu Holds Team-Building Seminar

by: EJ Arsenio J. Magpale

Vince Lombardi once declared: “Build for your team a feeling of oneness, of dependence on one another and of strength to be derived by unity…Individual commitment to a group effort, that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work.”

Impelled by the sincerest intention to enhance team spirit and harmony, the CA Cebu Station will hold on May 19, 2007, a Team-Building Seminar in the northern city of Danao. Since opening its doors to the public on October 15, 2004, this will be the very first activity targeted to improve unity among the Justices, lawyers, and personnel comprising the Cebu appellate court.

Working as one integrated team, CA Cebu has disposed of an aggregate number of 5,780 cases, consisting of 4260 decisions and 1520 resolutions, per Judicial Data and Statistics from October 2004 – March 2007. To date, many employee positions remain unfilled in CA Cebu, yet the output has exceeded expectations. This only goes to show that teamwork is the fuel that allows even a small group to achieve big results. This record is remarkable as well considering the fact that the Cebu Station has had only seven to eight justices working at any given time.

As a matter of fact, during the 71st Foundation Anniversary of the Court of Appeals, CA Cebu magistrates have reaped several well-merited awards for being among the top CA Decision Writers of 2006, as follows:

(Justices who have decided more than 200 cases in 2006)

  1. Justice Isaias P. Dicdican – 310 cases
  2. Justice Pampio A. Abarintos – 246 cases
  3. Justice Marlene Gonzales-Sison – 215 cases
    (In the year 2006 when the award was given, Justice Sison was assigned to Cebu Station. Presently, she is the Junior Member of the 15th Division)
  4. Justice Arsenio J. Magpale – 212 cases

(Justices who have decided all or maintained a balance of not more than 5 undecided cases at the end of December 2006)

  1. Justice Arsenio J. Magpale – 3
  2. Justice Pampio A. Abarintos – 3

On top of the foregoing awards, E.J. Arsenio J. Magpale also received a Special Award, for his leadership acumen and competent administration of CA Cebu as its Executive Justice. All such awards and recognition were conferred by no less than CA Presiding Justice Ruben T. Reyes himself.

Like the afore-cited awardees, CA Cebu Justices: Justice Agustin S. Dizon, Justice Antonio L. Villamor, Justice Priscilla Baltazar-Padilla, Justice Francisco P. Acosta and Justice Stephen C. Cruz are treading the same path of professional diligence, by writing erudite decisions and dispensing justice when and where justice is due.

Moving forward and inspired by its impeccable track record, CA Cebu is ready, willing and able to accomplish more, all in the spirit of earnest public service. With immense support from P.J. Ruben T. Reyes, the forthcoming Team-Building Seminar is targeted to further boost the case disposition output of the Cebu Station by establishing stronger ties of friendship, respect and teamwork among its estimated 159-strong human resources.

The team-building activity comes at a very opportune time, sending forth a message that a united CA Cebu stands firm and robust notwithstanding the negative publicity of purported corruption that has bombarded the entire appellate court. Recognizing its indispensable role as a satellite office of the Court of Appeals mandated by R.A. 8246, CA Cebu manifests its incessantly unified support of all the judicial reforms necessary to address the challenges of judicial service. The CA Cebu will continue its policy of transparency to public scrutiny, as it had always observed since its inception. Transparency, team spirit, fair and quality decision-making and speedy disposition of cases, should ultimately dispel the menacing and unfounded attacks against the integrity of the appellate court institution.

Copyright © 2016 Court of Appeals Website
Designed, developed and maintained by the MIS Division

Make fonts bigger. Make fonts smaller. Return fonts to normal size. Open printer friendly version of this document.